Two New Members Named to SC Humanities Board of Directors

SC Humanities is pleased to announce the FY2011 Board of Directors who begin their terms on November 1, 2010.

Two new members will join the Board of Directors in 2011: H. Graham Osteen II of Georgetown and Revonda L. Spratt of Inman.

H. Graham Osteen IIH. Graham Osteen II is co-president and secretary of Osteen Publishing Co. of Sumter, S.C., and Editor-At-Large of The Item, his family’s 116-year-old newspaper. He has served in various roles there, including City Editor, Managing Editor and Executive Editor. From 1997-2007 he served as Editor and Publisher of The Messenger in Hartsville, S.C., and has been a writer and editor at The Fredericksburg, Va., Free Lance-Star, The Montgomery, Ala., Advertiser; The Columbia Record and The State. He is currently president of the South Carolina Press Association Foundation and marketing chairman of the 2011 Winyah Bay Heritage Festival in Georgetown, S.C. He and his wife, Julie, a marketing and public relations professional, have two children: Duvall Osteen, a project coordinator at the Dolph Briscoe Center for American History at the University of Texas, Austin; and Hugh Osteen, a sophomore at Sewanee, The University of the South.

Revonda L. SprattRevonda L. Spratt is a veteran employee of the JM Smith Corporation with 24 years service.  She joined the JM Smith Corporation before QS/1 existed as a separate division of the Company.  She began her career here as a software trainer, was promoted to Manager, Pharmacy Training in 1995 and continued as Manager of Product Services until 2003.  She was promoted to Director of Product Services in 2003 and subsequently became Director of Applications Development. In 2004, she became Vice President of Development and Support.  Her scope of responsibility then included oversight of development and quality assurance for all health care and pharmacy related products, and oversight of the Customer Support Center.  Pursuant to a company restructuring in July of 2008, Ms. Spratt's portfolio was changed to include oversight of all support activities for all products and services throughout QS/1 and oversight of QS/1's Quality Assurance Program. Ms. Spratt has completed numerous executive education seminars at some of the most prestigious universities in the United States.  She resides in Inman, South Carolina.

Board Members continuing to serve are: Judy Burke Bynum of Spartanburg (Chair), Sara Sanders of Conway (Vice Chair), J. Herman Blake of Charleston, James Bryan of Columbia (Secretary), Helen Fellers of Columbia, Virginia Friedman of Charleston, Karen A. Garcia of Aiken, Thomas R. Gottshall of Columbia, Ghussan R. Greene of Orangeburg, Samuel M. Hines, Jr. of Charleston, Elizabeth Holmes of Anderson, Paul Horne of Rock Hill, Walton J. McLeod of Little Mountain, S.C. Cal McMeekin, Jr. of Columbia, Maggi M. Morehouse of Aiken, The Honorable Elizabeth D. (Betty Jo) Rhea of Rock Hill, David E. Rison of Summerville, Courtney L. Tollison of Greenville, L. Andrew Westbrook III of Greenville, Earl J. Wilcox of Rock Hill, D. Reece Williams III of Columbia, and Jane Zenger of Blythewood.

SC Humanities bids a sad farewell to two outstanding Board Members whose terms expire on October 31, 2010. John T. Garman (Past Chair) of Anderson and Bartow (Bo) S. Shaw, Jr. of Sumter both served the Council with great diligence and passion and will be sincerely missed.

The Board of Directors of SC Humanities consists of volunteer academic and public members. Board members initiate and develop projects, seek to make the humanities accessible statewide, and take active roles in Council fundraising.