Six New Members Named to SC Humanities Board

Six new members will join the Board of Directors in 2009: Virginia Tormey Friedman of Charleston, Thomas R. Gottshall of Columbia, Paul Horne of Columbia, Walton J. McLeod of Little Mountain, Maggi M. Morehouse of Aiken, and Sara L. Sanders of Conway.

Virginia Tormey Friedman is the Vice President of Media Communications at the College of Charleston and has helped build that institution’s Center for the Documentary. She has received numerous honors, including an EMMY Award for outstanding achievement in educational television and the South Carolina Governor’s Award in the Humanities.

A graduate of Yale University and University of Pennsylvania Law School, Thomas R. Gottshall is an attorney at Haynsworth, Sinkler, Boyd, P.A. in Columbia. He is deeply involved in the community through his many board appointments, including the All South Federal Credit Union and the Yale Schools Committee for Central South Carolina.

Paul Horne is the Director of Curriculum and Program Review of the Education Oversight Committee in Columbia, SC. He has served on the Board of the National Council for the Social Studies, among other honors, and has taught at numerous high schools and colleges in South Carolina in the areas of education and history.

A resident of and former Mayor of Little Mountain, Walton J. McLeod is a state representative for District 40, Lexington and Newberry counties. He has received numerous honors, including the Outstanding Legislator Award.

Maggi M. Morehouse is an Assistant Professor of History at the University of South Carolina Aiken who received her Ph.D in African American Studies at the University of California at Berkeley. She has received numerous awards and recognitions, including a Fulbright Research Scholar Award to conduct oral histories in Trinidad and Tobago.

Sara Lyles Sanders is a Professor of English at Coastal Carolina University who received her Ph.D. in linguistics from the University of South Carolina. She has been widely published and has been named the Kearns Palmetto Professor at Coastal Carolina University from 2007 – 2012.

Board members continuing to serve are: John T. Garman of Anderson (Chair), Judy Burke Bynum of Spartanburg (Vice Chair), James Bryan of Columbia, Helen Fellers of Columbia, Byron E. Gipson of Columbia, Ghussan R. Greene of Orangeburg, Samuel M. Hines, Jr. of Charleston, Elizabeth Holmes of Anderson, S.C. (Cal) McMeekin, Jr. of Columbia, June Murff of Aiken, The Honorable Elizabeth D. (Betty Jo) Rhea of Rock Hill, David E. Rison of Summerville, Bartow (Bo) S. Shaw of Sumter, Earl J. Wilcox of Rock Hill, D. Reece Williams III of Columbia, and Jane Zenger of Blythewood.

SC Humanities bids a sad farewell to five outstanding Board Members whose terms expire on October 31, 2008. John G. Creech of Greenville, Carmen V. Harris of Simpsonville, Mary (Molly) Harts of Ninety Six, Sam E. McCuen of Lexington, and Elizabeth Anne (Betty Anne) Tate of Charleston have all served the Council with great diligence and passion and will be sincerely missed.

The Board of Directors of SC Humanities consists of volunteer academic and public members. Board members initiate and develop projects, seek to make the humanities accessible statewide, and take active roles in Council fundraising.