The Directors’ Society

The Directors’ Society recognizes annual giving by former and current board members of SC Humanities.

The purpose of The Directors’ Society is three-fold: To increase private financial support for SC Humanities; to recognize board leadership in a special way; and to strengthen ties among former board members and SC Humanities. No one is in a better position to advocate for SC Humanities than its board alumni. The symbol《 denotes a current board member. 


Joan Assey, Columbia

Judith Bainbridge, Greenville

William Balk Jr., Williston

Leslie Walker Bickford, Rock Hill 《 

Marie C. Boyd, Columbia

Brenton Brown, Columbia 《 

Richard Brown (Secretary), Columbia 《 

Duff Bruce, Greenville 《 

James A. Bryan, Forest Acres

John Hartnett Busch, Chapin

Judy Burke Bynum, Spartanburg

Maria A. Cordova Salinas, Charleston

Tom Crosby, Columbia 《 

Beryl Dakers, Columbia

William E. Dufford, Columbia

Jo Angela Edwins, Florence

Walter M. Fiederowicz, Charleston

Elaine T. Freeman, Spartanburg

Virginia Friedman, Charleston

Mary Ellen Fuller, Alcolu 《 

Karen Garcia, Charlotte

John T. Garman, Durham

Ghussan R. Greene, Orangeburg

Jennifer H. Gunter, Columbia 《 

Bonnie Hargrove, Beaufort 《 

Carmen V. Harris, Simpsonville

Courtney Tollison Hartness, Greenville

Carlanna Hendrick, Florence

David Hodges (Chair), Columbia 《 

Blanche Premo Hopkins, Aiken

Paul A. Horne Jr., Rock Hill

Sigmon Huitt, Rock Hill

George D. Jebaily, Florence 《 

Kim Shealy Jeffcoat, Lexington

Vermelle J. Johnson, Orangeburg

Lisa Kerr, Charleston 《 

William D. Keyserling, Beaufort

Joab Lesesne, Spartanburg

John F. Lomax, Greenville

Tom Mack (Past Chair), Aiken 《 

S. C. McMeekin Jr., Columbia 《 

Lucas McMillan, Greenwood 《 

Gail M. Morrison, Columbia

June H. Murff, Aiken

Dollie Newhouse, Irmo 《 

Peggy Ratliff, Orangeburg

David E. Rison, Summerville

Sara L. Sanders, Conway

G. Garrett Scott, Spartanburg

James E. Smith, Jr., Columbia 《 

Thomas L. Stepp, Columbia

Joe Swann, Greenville

Alice Taylor-Colbert, Greenwood

Jennifer Thomas (Vice Chair), Greenville 《 

L. Andrew Westbrook III, Greenville

**(Our intent is that this list is as accurate as possible. If you feel your name should be listed, please let us know. Call 803-771-2477.)