Governor's Awards in the Humanities

South Carolina Humanities annually presents the Governor’s Awards in the Humanities Luncheon & Award Ceremony to recognize outstanding achievement and contributions to the humanities in South Carolina. 

Join us to celebrate!

Established in 1991, the Governor’s Awards in the Humanities recognize outstanding achievement in humanities research, teaching, and scholarship; institutional and individual participation in helping communities in South Carolina better understand our cultural heritage or ideas and issues related to the humanities; excellence defining South Carolina’s cultural life to the nation or world; and exemplary support for public humanities programs. 

As of 2018, SC Humanities is pleased to be offering a new award: the Fresh Voices in the Humanities Award. The award will recognize individuals who are working in unique and innovative ways to use culture and history to bring people together, but whose efforts may have gone relatively unnoticed beyond their own community. 

South Carolina Humanities is pleased to host the 2019 Governor’s Awards in the Humanities Luncheon & Award Ceremony in Columbia, SC on Thursday, October 24, 2019.

Individual tickets are available for purchase. Sponsorship opportunities are also available. If it is after October 22, please call the office at 803-771-2477 to see about ticket availability.

Sponsorship Opportunities

Join the thinkers, doers, and leaders who enjoy exploring and supporting the humanities in South Carolina! 
Multiple sponsorships are available at each level. Please contact Judy Burke Bynum for additional information.

Presenting Level

2 tables if desired, opportunity to present a Fresh Voice Award, other benefits as listed

Executive Level

2 tables if desired, opportunity to make brief remarks, other benefits as listed

Cabinet Level

1-2 tables, benefits as listed below with preferred logo placement, named and thanked as reception sponsor

Director's Level

1 table, benefits as listed below plus the opportunity to share materials about your organization

Supporting Level

1 table for ten, listing in program, on website, in annual report and mention from podium

Individual Tickets

Catered lunch and the opportunity to meet & greet fellow humanities advocates.

Special Thanks to our 2019 Sponsors

Cabinet Level

Director's Level

Supporting Level

Past Recipients

Eighty-two individuals and organizations have received awards from 1991 to 2018. 




  • Charles Joyner
  • Lawrence Rowland
  • WRJA – Sumter



  • Jerold J. Savory






  • Walter Edgar
  • Dori Sanders
  • William Starr




  • Luther (Fred) Carter
  • Ann Close
  • William Price Fox
  • Eugene (Nick) Ziegler


  • J. Douglas Donehue
  • Virginia Friedman
  • Joseph P. Riley, Jr.


2007 – Learn more about the 2007 recipients

  • Jeffrey R. Willis
  • Senator Ernest F. Hollings

2008 – Learn more about the 2008 recipients

  • Rachel Hodges
  • Wayne Q. Justesen, Jr.
  • William C. Moran

2009 – Learn more about the 2009 recipients

2010 – Learn more about the 2010 recipients

2011 – Learn more about the 2011 recipients

  • Jack Bass
  • Jerome “Jerry” Reel
  • I.P. Stanback Museum and Planetarium, South Carolina State University

2012 – Learn more about the 2012 honorees

2013 – Learn more about the 2013 honorees

  • Dr. Mary Ann Kohli
  • Ron Rash
  • Dr. Stephen R. Wise

2014 – Learn more about the 2014 honorees

  • Dr. William E. Dufford
  • Dr. Tom Mack
  • Dr. Alexandra Rowe

2015 – Learn more about the 2015 honorees

  • Dr. Charles Israel
  • Dr. Valinda Littlefield
  • Dr. Rudy Mancke

2016 – Learn more about the 2016 honorees

2017 – Learn more about the 2017 honorees

2018 – Learn more about the 2018 honorees

  • Anne Walker Cleveland, Governor’s Award in the Humanities
  • Bobby Donaldson, Governor’s Award in the Humanities
  • Sara June Goldstein, Governor’s Award in the Humanities
  • Cecil Williams, Governor’s Award in the Humanities
  • Adrienne Burris, Fresh Voice in the Humanities Award
  • Anna Catherine “AC” Parham, Fresh Voice in the Humanities Award