The Humanities Council SC Announces 2008 Board of Directors, Officers

John T. Garman of Anderson has been elected as Board Chair. Garman is a retired President of the Anderson Area Chamber of Commerce and has served on the Board of SC Humanities for four years. A graduate of Columbia University (B.A. and M.B.A.), Garman served as an executive for chambers of commerce in Indiana and Kentucky prior to coming to Anderson in 1999.

Judy Burke Bynum of Spartanburg has been elected as Vice Chair. Bynum has been with The ETV Endowment of South Carolina since 1997 and has served on the Board of SC Humanities for three years. Bynum holds a B.A. degree from the University of Georgia and a M.A. degree in journalism from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill and is a member of the Junior League, Rotary Club of Spartanburg, and the Friends of the Library.

Five new members have joined the Board of Directors in 2008, including elected members Helen Fellers of Columbia, Barton (Bo) Shaw of Sumter, D. Reece Williams III of Columbia, and Jane Zenger of Blythewood and governor appointed member Elizabeth Wilson Holmes of Anderson.

Board members continuing to serve are: James Bryan of Columbia, Past Chair John G. Creech of Greenville, Byron E. Gipson of Columbia, Ghussan R. Greene of Orangeburg, Carmen V. Harris of Simpsonville, Mary (Molly) Harts of Ninety Six, Samuel M. Hines, Jr. of Charleston, Sam E. McCuen of Lexington, S.C. (Cal) McMeekin, Jr. of Columbia, June Murff of Aiken, Jamie S. Prosser of Murrells Inlet, The Honorable Elizabeth D. (Betty Jo) Rhea of Rock Hill, David E. Rison of Summerville, Elizabeth (Betty Anne) Tate of Charleston, and Earl J. Wilcox of Rock Hill.

The Board of Directors consists of volunteer academic and public members. Board members initiate and develop projects, seek to make the humanities accessible statewide, and take active roles in Council fundraising.