SCWA’s “Writing Conversations” – “VOICE with Gary Jackson”

The South Carolina Writers’ Association (SCWA) launches its 2021 literary arts initiatives in January. These initiatives include six “Become an Author” programs, 24 “Writing Conversation” programs, and the annual conference, which will be virtual in 2021.

“Writing Conversations” events are casual lunchtime Zoom conferences led by a variety of literary citizens. They take place on Tuesdays at 12:00 p.m. via Zoom.

All of the “Become an Author” and “Writing Conversations” events are free and open to the public when they are live. Recordings are available for SCWA members. To learn more about the SCWA, view a full calendar of events, and register to attend, visit myscwa.org.

Full schedule of “Writing Conversations”:

“Writing Conversation” events organized in “sprints” – Tuesdays, 12 p.m. via Zoom

  • Sprint 1 “In Hibernation”
    • Tuesday, January 19, Kasie Whitener, “Setting Writer Goals”
    • Tuesday, January 26, Amelia Brown, “Children’s & YA Publishing”
    • Tuesday, February 2, Derek Berry, “Writing as Play”
  • Sprint 2 “In Love”
    • Tuesday, February 16, Ray McManus, “How to Write a Love Poem”
    • Tuesday, February 23, Art Turfa, “Writing Collaborations”
    • Tuesday, March 2, Barbara Evers, “The Perfect Pitch”
  • Sprint 3 “In Bloom” 
    • Tuesday, March 16, Lis-Anna Langston, “Writing from the Core Wound for Depth and Insight,”
    • Tuesday, March 23, Amy Collins for an Agent Q&A
    • Tuesday, March 30, Carolyn Hartley, “Publishing, Agenting, and Authoring from Experience”
  • Summer Series
    • Sprint 4 — Amber Wheeler Bacon Hosts:
      • Tuesday, May 18, “IMAGES with Jonathan Bahr Heinen”
      • Tuesday, May 25, “BAD GUYS with Duncan Murrell”
      • Tuesday, June 1, “VOICE  with Gary Jackson”
      • Tuesday, June 8, “1st DRAFTS with David Schwartz”
    • Sprint 5 — Kasie Whitener Hosts:
      • Tuesday, June 15, “Writing Goals Check-in”
      • Tuesday, June 22, “Short Story Basics”
      • Tuesday, June 29, “Dialogue do’s and don’ts”
      • Tuesday, July 6, “Point of View”
    • Sprint 6
      • Tuesday, July 13, “Contests & Awards”
      • Tuesday, July 20, “Travel Writing”
      • Tuesday, July 27, “Memoir Jump Start — with Alexa Bigwarfe”
      • Tuesday, August 3, “Historical Fiction”
  • Sprint 7 “Back to School”
    • Tuesday, September 21, Freelancer’s Toolbox
    • Tuesday, September 28, Submissions Best Practices
    • Tuesday, October 5, Revision Nitty Gritty

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.